Nominations: April 2022

The following projects (short films, TV & web series, and screenplays) are the finalists of the round of April competing in 62 different categories.

These projects were shortlisted from an official selection pool with a 46,6% acceptance rate, based on submissions from 24 countries and a total runtime of 42:54:18.

The nominees represent 33,7% of all submitted projects.

***Categories not listed have no submissions meeting the requirements***

***Categories TBA have 2 or less projects with eligible scores for awards. The award winner(s) announcement for these categories is done along with the award winners of all of the other categories***

Follow the links for the other sections:




Best Indie Short

Blood Runs by Kyle Leatherberry (USA)

Chronos by Gui Merlino (Brazil)

Horseback by Shu Ya (China)

Man in a Maze by Sergio Jimenez (USA)

Truck Fishing in America by Shelley Delaney (USA)

Best Drama Short

An Island Drifts by Vivian Ip (Singapore)

Cope by Katherine Kahrs (USA)

Driving Force by Max Wolf Friedlich (USA)

When the Music… by Morgan Rodner and Alexis Rhee (USA)

Zero Stars by Kirsten Foe (USA)

Best Documentary Short

Climate Impact Asia by Liz Courtney (Philippines)

Nèsciri by Ivan D’Ignoti (Italy)

Performing Juliet by András Visky (USA)

Soon Guan by Ada Zhang (Singapore)

The 13th Note by Karim Khorsheed (USA)

Best Comedy Short

Aghast! by Andreas Quiroga (USA)

Divine Intervention by Mia Miller (USA)

Happy Loaf by Erik J. S. DeFries (USA)

Queer Fish in God’s Waiting Room by Adrian Pasdar (USA)

Ritmo by Neesin Williams (USA)

Best Dark Comedy Short

Bar Napkin Portraits by Walter Vincent (USA)

Big Dumb Animal by Schuyler Willson (Canada)

Deadpan by Matt Maule and Tom Stephens (Australia)

Gary by Doug Cox (USA)

Open House by Mikaela McParlan (USA)

Best Crime Short


Best Thriller Short

9 of Swords by Jesse Robert Cohen (USA)

No Exit by Alex Mark Stradling and Josh Michael Morelli (USA)

The Third Defector by John Gray (USA)

The Turn Ahead by Jessin Joy (India)

When Buying a Fine Murder by Gabriele Tacchi (Italy)

Best Film Noir Short


Best Mystery Short

Limbo by Arin Johan Aksberg-Kristensen (Norway)

Man in a Maze by Sergio Jimenez (USA)

Secretly Sweetly – Season 1 by Young Man Kang (South Korea)

Best Sci-Fi Short


Best Fantasy Short


Best Animation Short

Empty Place by Hedieh Ataeian (Iran)

Sound (Nadam) by Indrajit Nattoji (India)

Teleportation by Susan Mey Lee Lim (Singapore)

The Alan Song by Susan Mey Lee Lim, Christina Teenz Tan, and Samudra Kajal Saikia (Singapore)

Vesak by Ina Chen (China)

Best Children Short

Christ of the Abyss by John Murphy (USA)

How The Cheetah Got Its Stripes by Maura Ferrand (Canada)

Sound (Nadam) by Indrajit Nattoji (India)

Best Women Short

Bego by Pilar Malo (Mexico)

Beneath The Surface by Chantal Van Zyl (USA)

Cope by Katherine Kahrs (USA)

Don’t Fall Asleep by Elizabeth Jane Findley (USA)

The Winter Fern by Gwen Gottlieb (USA)

Best LGBTQ Short


Best Microfilm

#standwithukraine by Lisa Brandt (Germany)

Beate Sits in the Bathroom in Silence by Valerie Knill (Germany)

Breaking News by Taylor Conley (USA)

Metanoia by Dino Koutsandreas (USA)

Nasty Infinity by Lea Hinz (USA)

Best Experimental Short

Into The Mountains by Christopher Anagnostopoulos (Greece)

Nasty Infinity by Lea Hinz (USA)

Raw by DFTCNT (UK)

The Internal Void of a Damaged Mind by Christian Søgaard (Norway)

The Night Garden by Tom Pearson, Daria Karpova, Anastasia Nesterova, Renata Zhigulina, and Marissa Nielsen-Pincus (USA)

Best Student Short

Collage by Usmanov Dilshodbek (Uzbekistan)

Freddie by Talia Newton (Australia)

Horseback by Shu Ya (China)

Limbo by Arin Johan Aksberg-Kristensen (Norway)

The Debater by Maya Miller (USA)

Best Screendance Short


Best Music Video

Argent Glass by Katsuyuki Nakanishi (Japan)

Snake by Chedly Bouzouaia (Canada)

The Alan Song by Susan Mey Lee Lim, Christina Teenz Tan, and Samudra Kajal Saikia (Singapore)

The Jenny Thing – American Canyon by Ramesh Nicolas Iyer (USA)

The Sun Line – Fire in the Pines by Peter A English (USA)

Best Web and New Media


Best Mobile Short


Best Trailer/Teaser


Best Short Script

For Laughs by Molly Roland (USA)

Rabbit Hole by Aaron Schoonover (USA)

The National by Cris Manliclic (USA)




Indie Short Fest 2018-2022 © All Rights Reserved