Nominations: November 2023

The following projects (short films, TV & web series, and screenplays) are the finalists of the monthly round of November competing in 62 different categories.

These projects were shortlisted from an official selection pool with 48,8% acceptance rate, based on submissions from 18 countries and total runtime of 42:54:21, plus the short scripts.

The nominees are placed in the top 34,8%.

***Categories not listed have no submissions meeting the requirements, namely with minimum scores to make the cut***

***Categories TBA have 2 or less projects with cut scores for awards. The award winner(s) announcement for these categories is done along with the award winners of all of the other categories***

Follow the links for the other sections:




Best Indie Short

Dance Hall by Damon Brown and Allen Robertson (USA)

Lose Me Not by Desmond Hudson and Nina Zogg (Switzerland)

Retrieval by Fatimah Asghar (USA)

Salt by Kelcey Edwards (USA)

Water Park by Joshua Montrel (USA)

Best Drama Short

Blaupause by Philomena Petzenhammer (Germany)

Empty Heights, Moonlit Night by Canghai Lu (China)

One Wish by Kat Dubrow (USA)

The Fool by Jonathan Primo Ruiz (USA)

The Woman in The Room by Danny Donnelly (USA)

Best Student Short

El Halcón by Arlene Torres (USA)

Fairlane by Luca Leggieri (USA)

The Juice by Jonathan Jamell Thibeaux (USA)

The Key by Haiwei Sun (China)

The Wall by Laura Calle (USA)

Best Documentary Short

I Am Kanaka by Genevieve Sulway (UK)

News Without a Newsroom by Oana Liana Whaples (USA)

Rising Wings by Harun Kazaz (USA)

True Colors by Brad Hillwig (USA)

We Are Flying Stars by Todd Antony (UK)

Best Comedy Short

Buddy Love by Kiefer O’Reilly (Canada)

New Life by Cleve Brown (USA)

The Job by Geraldine Pearl Bright (USA)

Best Romantic Comedy Short

After Dim Sum by Jay McGregor (USA)

Feet Cute by Dylan Lanham (USA)

Learn to Luv Me! by Tim Bills (USA)

Best Dark Comedy Short

Eat Me by Thuy-Vu Mai and Oscar Riveros (USA)

Pailet by Shusei Ueda (Japan)

The Boogieman by Maddie Harper (UK)

Best Action Short

Foolproof by Sean Swaby (USA)

Mother Trucker by Jessa Zarubica (USA)

Rumble Riot by Joey Min (USA)

Best Crime Short

Bonding by Luke Rex (USA)

God in the Valley by Christian Colbert (USA)

Lament by Jason Chu (USA)

Best Film Noir Short


Best Thriller Short

HE.R by Jarrett Craig (Canada)

Skin by Mario Christian Rodriguez (USA)

The Ascension Program by Max DeLeo (USA)

The Need by Michael Rognlie and EE Tallent (USA)

Veil of Darkness by Mark Mandia (USA)

Best Mystery Short

Chosen Ones by Ali Roberts (Australia)

Over Coffee by Ger Skinder (USA)

The Mechanical Memory by Daniel Pavez (Chile)

Best Horror Short

2 Players Required by Cameron Gallagher (USA)

I Love U by Brandon Stewart (Canada)

Veil of Darkness by Mark Mandia (USA)

Best Sci-Fi Short

Hole Punched Ear by Alan Yammin and Ben Tull (USA)

Solitary Waves by Thomas Dubois (France)

The Mechanical Memory by Daniel Pavez (Chile)

Best Fantasy Short


Best Animation Short

A Sh*tty W*zard by AM Haveson (USA)

Canelo by Jordi Ayguasenosa and David Calderón (Mexico)

Dreams of the Secular Life by Qian Zhang (China)

Osun by Michael Rhima (USA)

To the Rescue by Cynthia Ellen Gall (USA)

Best Children Short


Best Women Short

An Early Autumn Day by Hangyu Zhou (USA)

Auntie by Junyi Chen (China)

Come On, Marie… by Cristián Ortiz (USA)

Funky by Shoval Tshuva (USA)

Salt by Kelcey Edwards (USA)

Best LGBTQ Short

43 York Road by Alex Figueiredo and Charleen Elea (UK)

Copenhagen Rendezvous by André Palacios Tingberg (Denmark)

Fairlane by Luca Leggieri (USA)

Best Microfilm

Copenhagen Rendezvous by André Palacios Tingberg (Denmark)

Learn to Luv Me! by Tim Bills (USA)

My Brother Paul is a Werewolf by Jason Joel Lethcoe (USA)

Best Experimental Short

I Am Moving by Diego Clericuzio (Italy)

Lose Me Not by Desmond Hudson and Nina Zogg (Switzerland)

Waking Field by Brian Alexander (USA)

Best Music Video

Adam Acosta – Firework Fam by Alexander Nguyen (USA)

Possible Stranger by Lara Marks (UK)

Ryta Ray – Frequency Of Love by Nikita Kvasnikov (Ukraine)

Sum of All Your Fears by Nathan Mudry (USA)

Waiting So Long by Adam Schmieder (USA)

Best Web Series & TV Pilot

Anna’s House by Ben Phillips and Daksh Gopalani (USA)

Mindgames: Ignition by Shri Krishna (USA)

Mott & Spy by Martin Ashanti Eaton (USA)

Sunday League by Jamie Bourne (UK)

Survivor’s Guide to Diaspora by Sara Markovic (Serbia)

Best Web and New Media


Best Parody Short


Best Trailer/Teaser

AËK (Canada)

Default Mode (USA)

Space Transports (USA)

Best Short Script

Count ‘Em by Winnie Khaw and Erik Miguel Gervs (USA)

Equal Distribution by David Seader (USA)

Mother by Emma Shae Stewart (USA)

Saint Linda by Barry Hite (USA)

Supercuts by Reese Prentice Mitchell (USA)




Indie Short Fest 2018-2023 © All Rights Reserved