Nominations for Performance: October 2023

See also




Best Female Director

Julia Marchese for I Know What You Need (USA)

Nadia Guo for The Film (China)

Paola Baldion for Abrazo (USA)

Phebe Schmidt for Best Self (Australia)

Tamara Cook for Y (Australia)

Best Male Director

Chris Merrill for The Suck (USA)

Mauricio Uribarri for Surface or Wasting Time in the Most Gleaming Spaces (Mexico)

Max Woods for Into The Wild (USA)

Moath Nawaf Alsalem for My Content (Kuwait)

Pedro Cuesy for How We (Never) Met (Mexico)

Best Student Female Director

Maddy Arnold for The Brunos (USA)

Sienna Petersen and Josh Chapp for The Fisherman (USA)

Skye Schoenhoeft for Take A Picture (USA)

Best Student Male Director

Holden Levy for Remembering Lucy (USA)

Jay Beckett for Daddy (USA)

Jon Frenkel Garcia for The Reflection Of Francisca Newman (USA)

Noah Sokolsky for The In-Between Place (USA)

Weihua Feng for The Drowning Fish (China)

Best First Time Female Director

Carin van der Donk, Isabel Vega, and Sarah Teale for Living Loud (USA)

Darlene A Sacco for Empty Pockets (USA)

Joanna Bacalso for The Frog Who Can’t Ribbit (Canada)

Mackenzie K. Wertman for Knightlights & Teddy Bears (USA)

Xiangyi Zhu for On the Road (USA)

Best First Time Male Director

Anshul Vijayvargiya for Azadi (India)

Atlas Ferrera for Night Hawkes (USA)

Brandon Leake and Cleve Brown for Complexity (USA)

Derrex Brady for Roberta’s Rules (USA)

Yu-Le Chang for Shadow Under the Bed (Taiwan)

Best Young Female Filmmaker

Paloma Corzo for In the Middle of Somewhere (Mexico)

Sirui Wang for Patriots (China)

Yilin Zhang for Heritage (China)

Best Young Male Filmmaker


Best Actress

Carmen Serano for Roberta’s Rules (USA)

Natasha Krishnan for On Christmas Day (Canada)

Shelby Hightower for Empty Pockets (USA)

Best Actor

Derrex Brady for Roberta’s Rules (USA)

Jim Meskimen for The Suck (USA)

Ken Forman for New Moon – Season 1 (USA)

Best Supporting Actress


Best Supporting Actor


Best Child/Young Actress


Best Child/Young Actor

Giovanni Cristoff for Roberta’s Rules (USA)

Romyn Smith for Suspended (USA)

Wachin Tanah for Shadow Under the Bed (Taiwan)

Best Acting Duo

Casey Alcocer and Andrew Yanker for Fish Roommate (USA)

Kathleen O’Grady and Paola Baldion for Abrazo (USA)

Phil Arliss and John-Michael Sedor for Festival (USA)

Best Ensemble Cast

Danni Vitorino, David Prottas, Carlos Melendez, and Melissa Drew for Daddy (USA)

Derrex Brady, Carmen Serano, Page Kennedy, Aida Rodriguez, Giovanni Cristoff, Sean Holland, Vanoy Burnough, June Christopher, Casey Zeman, Jasmine Sim, Shane Dorriz, Mike Foy, David Michael Trevino, Kevin Michael Moran, John Taferner, Michael Gitomer, Tammie Young, Tiffany Walker, Sara Albrecht, Selam Seifu, Ryu Brady, Zara Morrison, Deborah Marcano, Phyllis Duke, Janina Bates, and Patrice Bates for Roberta’s Rules (USA)

Jim Meskimen, Austin Zajur, and Taylor Meskimen for The Suck (USA)

O-T Fagbenle, Colleen Giddings, Jeff Lorch, Hannah Simone, and Sonal Shah for Still Scattered (USA)

Pete Maddocks, Qurrat Ann Kadwani, Linda Manning, Agathe Levi, and Tripp Corson for Wake Up Call (USA)




Indie Short Fest 2018-2023 © All Rights Reserved