Nominations: August 2022

The following projects (short films, TV & web series, and screenplays) are the finalists of the round of August competing in 62 different categories.

These projects were shortlisted from an official selection pool with a 39,6% acceptance rate, based on submissions from 17 countries and a total runtime of 41:04:58.

The nominees represent 28,7% of all submitted projects.

***Categories not listed have no submissions meeting the requirements***

***Categories TBA have 2 or less projects with eligible scores for awards. The award winner(s) announcement for these categories is done along with the award winners of all of the other categories***

Follow the links for the other sections:




Best Indie Short

Blood Gum by Jonathan Terence May (Australia)

Prepare for Launch by Vince Williams (USA)

Smile by Jamon Tolbert (USA)

The Chair by Alain Legend Raymond (USA)

Tiger Lily by Emmett Kowalski (USA)

Best Drama Short

13th Round by Michael Trainor (Canada)

13th Stepping by Emily Ruhl (USA)

But I Want to Leave the Party by Gilles Plouffe (Canada)

Could You Please Repeat That? by Minnie Nguyen (USA)

Judas by the Sea by Hao Wu (China)

Best Documentary Short


Best Comedy Short

Apocalypse for Dummies by Gabriel Warburton (USA)

Astrid’s Trip by Julie Doyle (USA)

Caged by Jeff Perreca (USA)

Holy Smokes by Garrett Park Gallego (USA)

My Boomerang by Robert Kubilos (USA)

Best Dark Comedy Short

Midnight Bound by Anthony Battaglia (USA)

Patient Zero by Ilia Smirnov (Russia)

The Feeling Expert by Jamie Anderson (USA)

Best Film Noir Short

The Deep End by Jack Fessenden (USA)

The Lesser Crime by Ajit Nag (India)

The Secret Weapon: Yesterday is Today by Ken Sagoes (USA)

Best Thriller Short


Best Mystery Short


Best Horror Short

Check The Locks by Eric Larson (USA)

Elephant Moose by Whit Lane (USA)

Fog of War by Steven Lundgren (USA)

Spaghetti Face by Peter Raber (USA)

Under My Skin by Liam Azogui (USA)

Best Sci-Fi Short

Cybernetic Vøid by Cyrus Jabbari (USA)

Lifecell by Tyler Mann (USA)

Omega by Rilee Kennedy (USA)

Best Fantasy Short

House of the Unholy by Daniel Merlot (USA)

The Altors by Lisa L Wilson and Greg Payton (USA)

The Girl Eating Apple Alone By The Sea by Rocky Wong (Hong Kong)

Best Western Short

Billie by John Rhode and Tanner Thomason (USA)

Nomad by Jose Infante (USA)

The Hanging of William Cane by Preston Walden (USA)

Best Animation Short

Pete by Bret Parker (USA)

Spoken Melody by Arnau Giol Trilles (Spain)

The Rise and Fall of Luna Loveless by Brittany Grissom (USA)

Walinong Sari by Eugene Foo (Malaysia)

When Rabbits Could Fly by Francois Juszezak and Annie Korach (France)

Best Children Short


Best Women Short

Blue Moon by Emily Ruhl (USA)

Level One Four by Shaelan Catalina Kelly (USA)

Nora’s Wedding Anno 1905 by Melanie Ekholdt (Norway)

Runner by Spencer Tuggle (USA)

Wasted by Pearl Windle and Robert Benicio Ponce (USA)

Best LGBTQ Short

Blue Moon by Emily Ruhl (USA)

Cherry by John M. Dichi (New Zealand)

Exhibition by Jingwen Felix Qiang (USA)

Paukhofstrasse by Hannahlisa Kunyik (Austria)

Under My Skin by Liam Azogui (USA)

Best Microfilm

Hot Feet by Mike Mentor (USA)

Switch by Mike Roberts (Australia)

The House on the Cliff by Sarah Le (USA)

Best Experimental Short

Hold the Lighthouse by Thomas Soto (Canada)

Hot Feet by Mike Mentor (USA)

My Mother’s Last Dance by Ivan Knyazev (Russia)

Paukhofstrasse by Hannahlisa Kunyik (Austria)

The Girlfriend Project by Ayeshah Rose (Australia)

Best Student Short

Everybody Knows by Gianluca Giordimaina (UK)

Forgetting Nobody by R TE J (USA)

Her Majesty’s Lice by Will Hoppin (USA)

Mrs. American Pie by Kailey Jordan New (USA)

Someone You Loved by Elly Zhou (China)

Best Music Video

Always Young and Brave by Ilia Smirnov (Russia)

Clear by Jed Roberson (USA)

Let Me Know by Nate Chateaux (USA)

On Holiday by Nate Chateaux (USA)

Thicker Than Blood by Brando Corcino (USA)

Best Web Series & TV Pilot

13th Stepping by Emily Ruhl (USA)

Jungle Alley by Ebony Patrice Jones (USA)

The Chambers – In God We Trust by Sura Khan (USA)

Best Web and New Media


Best Parody Short


Best Trailer/Teaser


Best Short Script

Breathe by Jim Yufei Zou (China)

New Madrid by T.J. Morehouse (USA)

Palisades Patrol! by Bob Yates (USA)

Stay by Mark Tives (USA)

Thy Neighbor by Tyler Jones (USA)




Indie Short Fest 2018-2022 © All Rights Reserved