Award Winners of January 2023: Technical Categories


Honorable Mention (Producer): Jennifer Smith for Finding My Edge (USA)

Best Female Director: Tsarina Merrin for Hang Up (USA)

Best Male Director: Adam Fischer for Powering Puerto Rico (USA)

Best Student Female Director: Dereka Bennett for A Devil in Disguise (USA)

Best Student Male Director: Kenneth Ikaika Aune for It Lives With Me (USA)

Best First Time Female Director: 荣欣 张 for Mingming (China)

Best First Time Male Director: Bernard Gray for Merk (Canada)

Honorable Mention (Young Female Filmmaker): Garvin Kim for Birthday Cake (South Korea)

Outstanding Achievement Award (Young Male Filmmaker): Aiden Thomas Rodgers for Slings and Arrows (USA)

Best Actress: Tsarina Merrin for Hang Up (USA)

Best Actor: Joseph Sernio for Loved (USA)

Outstanding Achievement Award (Actor): Richard Cambridge for Man Made (UK)

Honorable Mention (Supporting Actor): Fernando Veríssimo for Perfect (Brazil)

Honorable Mention (Child/Young Actress): Adriana G Arena for Behind Bars (USA)

Best Acting Duo: Madi Goff and Mary Chieffo for Every Morning (USA)

Best Ensemble Cast: Daniel Yaiullo, Katie North, Michael Gardiner, Lee Arden, AliRose Harton, Florian Wahl, Logan Shallow, Kathy Smith, Roxane Durand, and Jeanne Vigouroux for Events at Hemlock Manor (USA)

Best Production Design: Nick Chang and Yingjie Jin for It’s Not About The Car (USA)

Outstanding Achievement Award (Production Design)Events at Hemlock Manor (USA)

Best Original Screenplay: Zebang Yang for Half-meter (China)

Outstanding Achievement Award (Original Screenplay): Tsarina Merrin for Hang Up (USA)

Best CinematographyJeff Hilliard – Finger Bang Your Day (USA)

Best Editing: Adam Fischer for Powering Puerto Rico (USA)

Outstanding Achievement Award (Visual FX)Jeff Hilliard – Consensual (USA)

Outstanding Achievement Award (Sound Design)Finding My Edge (USA)

Honorable Mention (Sound Design): Kary Hyunjeong Sarrey for Insomnia – 4:00 AM (USA)

Honorable Mention (Makeup and Hairstyling)Behind Bars (USA)

Outstanding Achievement Award (Special Makeup): Artistic LA and Kseniya Hart for Not a Teacup (USA)

Best Original Score: Amy Summers for Every Morning (USA)

Best Original Song: Abandon by Jeff Hilliard (USA)

Outstanding Achievement Award (Original Song): Somewhere Behind The Sun by Tiffany Christopher, for Tremor (USA)


Indie Short Fest 2018-2023 © All Rights Reserved