Award Winners: October 2023


Best Short of the Season (Special Jury Award)

Abrazo by Paola Baldion (USA)

Best Foreign-Language Short of the Season (Special Jury Award)

Online by Bianka Bereczky (Hungary)

Award of Excellence (Special Jury Mention)

Azadi by Anshul Vijayvargiya (India)

Award of Excellence (Special Jury Mention)

I Know What You Need by Julia Marchese (USA)

Best Short of the Season – Runner-up (Special Jury Mentions)

Nemorise by Vladi Haivoronski (Canada)

Night Hawkes by Atlas Ferrera (USA)

Shadow Under the Bed by Yu-Le Chang (Taiwan)

Still Scattered by Dominic Burgess and Jeff Lorch (USA)

The Other Shore by 盼 胡 (China)

The Suck by Chris Merrill (USA)

Best Indie Short: Azadi by Anshul Vijayvargiya (India)

Outstanding Achievement Award (Indie Short)The Other Shore by 盼 胡 (China)

Honorable Mention (Indie Short)Welcome To The Neighborhood by Jason Lee Segal (USA)

Best Drama Short: Abrazo by Paola Baldion (USA)

Honorable Mention (Drama Short)Roberta’s Rules by Derrex Brady, M.D. Walton, and Mayon Denton (USA)

Best Student ShortOnline by Bianka Bereczky (Hungary)

Outstanding Achievement Award (Student Short)Luminous Bird by Zimeng Li and Ruixi Zhou (China)

Honorable Mention (Student Short)The Dragon’s Dance by Sean Jasper Lim (USA)

Best Documentary ShortThe Perfect Shot: Antarctica by Quinn Halleck (USA)

Outstanding Achievement Award (Documentary Short)The Curse Effect by Gregg Jaden (USA)

Honorable Mention (Documentary Short)The Present by Timothy Dhalleine (Chile)

Best Comedy ShortFestival by Michael Bromberg (USA)

Outstanding Achievement Award (Comedy Short)Into The Wild by Max Woods (USA)

Honorable Mention (Comedy Short)Five Stars by Kenny Williams and Ryan Hepkema (USA)

Best Dark Comedy ShortStill Scattered by Dominic Burgess and Jeff Lorch (USA)

Outstanding Achievement Award (Dark Comedy Short)The Suck by Chris Merrill (USA)

Honorable Mention (Dark Comedy Short)Ooze by Matthew Rollins (USA)

Honorable Mention (Action Short)Status: Retired by Joey Min (USA)

Best Film Noir Short: Double Nickel by Mark Tomov (USA)

Best Thriller ShortI Know What You Need by Julia Marchese (USA)

Outstanding Achievement Award (Thriller Short)The Tree by Vijay Singh (USA)

Best Mystery ShortThe Nightmare by Xi Wenting (China)

Honorable Mention (Horror Short)The In-Between Place by Noah Sokolsky (USA)

Best Sci-Fi ShortNemorise by Vladi Haivoronski (Canada)

Honorable Mention (Sci-Fi Short)The Film by Nadia Guo (China)

Best Fantasy ShortShadow Under the Bed by Yu-Le Chang (Taiwan)

Honorable Mention (Fantasy Short): Y by Tamara Cook (Australia)

Best Animation ShortOff-Camera by Vishal TM (India)

Outstanding Achievement Award (Animation Short)Mr Nullus From Nusquam by Chenjia Ren (USA)

Honorable Mention (Animation Short)Knightlights & Teddy Bears by Mackenzie K. Wertman (USA)

Honorable Mention (Children Short)Bunny-Man & Co. Ep. 1: Enter The Hype League by Henry Black (USA)

Best Women ShortFaultline by Ella Mikayelyan (USA)

Best LGBTQ ShortNight Hawkes by Atlas Ferrera (USA)

Outstanding Achievement Award (LGBTQ Short)Daddy by Jay Beckett (USA)

Best MicrofilmNo Flies On Me by Lars Magnus Holmgren (Australia)

Outstanding Achievement Award (Microfilm)On the Road by Xiangyi Zhu (USA)

Best Experimental ShortBest Self by Phebe Schmidt (Australia)

Outstanding Achievement Award (Experimental Short)Surface or Wasting Time in the Most Gleaming Spaces by Mauricio Uribarri (Mexico)

Honorable Mention (Experimental Short)A Tropical Flower: In III Chapters by Aaron Thomas Fisher-Cohen (USA)

Best Screendance ShortTides by Xinge Li and Ginny Jiang (China)

Honorable Mention (Screendance Short)The Reflection Of Francisca Newman by Jon Frenkel Garcia (USA)

Best Music VideoVenom by Alfredo Vidal (USA)

Outstanding Achievement Award (Music Video)Ego – Ava Della Pietra by Adam Lukowski (USA)

Best Web Series & TV PilotWake Up Call by Matthew Panepinto (USA)

Honorable Mention (Web Series & TV Pilot)WordLotto by Johnny Baca (USA)

Outstanding Achievement Award (Web and New Media)Why Jerusalem Matters by Rebecca Pettit (USA)

Honorable Mention (Web and New Media)To Esteban by Héctor Almeida (Cuba)

Honorable Mention (Mobile Short)10 Hours by Apurva Singh and Eshaan Ghosh (India)

Honorable Mention (Trailer/Teaser)The Water Shaman Eternal Love Oath (Spain)

Outstanding Achievement Award (Short Script)Viri Utopia by Azhin Shekhi (Luxembourg)

Honorable Mention (Short Script)Maybe Today, Maybe Tomorrow, Maybe Never by Tim Cairns (USA)


Indie Short Fest 2018-2023 © All Rights Reserved