Award Winners: October 2019

Indie Short FestBest Short

Zenith by Christopher Yager (USA)


Best Foreign-Language Short

True Story by Amine Lakhnech (Tunisia)


Runner-ups (Best Short)

Butterfly by Bonnie Foster (USA)

Little Philip’s Birthday by Barsam Naemi (Canada)

Memory Man by Christopher M Armstrong (UK)

Sick Boys Die Alone by Howard Campbell (USA)

The Green Sea by Steven Alexander Robbins (USA)


Runner-ups (Best Foreign-Language Short)

Here Comes the Night by Delphine Leoni (France)

Hollow Tooth by Samuel Kaperski (France)

Masterpieces by Alexander Mair (Austria)

Mother of Chernobyl by Alexander Shuryepov (USA)

Terminus by Jan Pool (Netherlands)


Best Indie Short: Here Comes the Night by Delphine Leoni (France)

Best Drama Short: Sick Boys Die Alone by Howard Campbell (USA)

Best Student Drama Short: Here Today by Erica Arvold (USA)

Best Documentary Short: The Daughter of The Caucasus by Giancarlo Bocchi (Italy)

Best Student Documentary Short: Chasing Glaciers by Mark Gregory (Peru)

Best Comedy Short: Bottomless by Dustin Curtis Murphy (UK)

Best Student Comedy Short: Restart by Ryan Williamson (USA)

Best Romantic Comedy Short: Few Hours in Athens by Ari Papargyropoulos (Greece)

Best Student Romantic Comedy Short: Reply All by Josh Pulido (USA)

Best Dark Comedy Short: Numb by Rachel Wan (Netherlands)

Best Student Dark Comedy Short: Elementary by Jonathan Espolin (USA)

Best Crime Short: One Last Last Heist by Darrin Rose (Canada)

Best Action Short: Wasters by Molotov Mitchell (USA)

Best Film Noir Short: In the Midst of Love by William Sung (Australia)

Best Mystery Short: Whitetail Bucks by Derek Tonks (USA)

Best Student Mystery Short: Buried in the Air by Xun Zhuo (USA)

Best Thriller Short: Bite Me! by Sergei Safiullin (USA)

Best Horror Short: Deep Shock by Davide Melini (UK)

Best Student Horror Short: Play Along by Brian Hogan and Connor Rog (USA)

Best Fantasy Short: True Story by Amine Lakhnech (Tunisia)

Best Student Fantasy Short: We Meet On The Roof by Nicholas Sun (China)

Best Sci-Fi Short: Memory Man by Christopher M Armstrong (UK)

Best Student Sci-Fi Short: Exkursion by Moritz Brandes (Germany)

Best Western Short: Trust Issues by Andretti Dante (USA)

Best Children Short: If By Life You Were Deceived by Xun Zhuo (China)

Best Student Children Short: We Meet On The Roof by Nicholas Sun (China)

Best Animation Short: Space Sharks by Stefan Schumacher (USA)

Best Student Animation Short: Go! Go! by Patradol Kitcharoen (USA)

Best Women Short: Killing Irma by Sarah Clark (USA)

Best Student Women Short: The Rosy Summer Day by Nicole Shan (USA)

Best LGBTQ Short: Magnificent by Dawn Jones Redstone (USA)

Best Student LGBTQ Short: Fifth Floor On The Left by Renata Lučić (Croatia)

Best Parody Short: The Boxcar Adults by Julie Pearson (USA)

Best Music Video: Fighting Giants Visual EP by Ash Von Chamier (USA)

Best Student Music Video: Sight by Sharwin Samant (USA)

Best Web Series/TV Pilot: Swiped by Derek Evans (USA)

Best Web and New Media: Kensington in Crisis by Jill Frechie and John Ricciutti (USA)

Best Student Web and New Media: Dirty Business by Yutao Chen (USA)

Best Experimental Short: Zenith by Christopher Yager (USA)

Best Student Experimental Short: No Really, It’s Fine. by Becca Dobyns (USA)

Best Microfilm: Numb by Rachel Wan (Netherlands)

Best Student Microfilm: Sonny Boy by Karolina Lisowski (Poland)

Best Mobile Short: Wasters by Molotov Mitchell (USA)

Best Student Mobile Short: The Last Doppelganger by Ryan Kaye (USA)

Best Drone Short: Colombus by Ludovic Veltz (France)

Best Student Short: The Green Sea by Steven Alexander Robbins (USA)

Best Trailer/Teaser: Black Collar (USA)

Best Short Script: Mañana is a Happy Day by Andres Pi Andreu (USA)

Best Director (Female): Bonnie Foster for Butterfly (USA)

Best Director (Male): Howard Campbell for Sick Boys Die Alone (USA)

Best Student Director (Female): 李戈其 for The Wrecker (China)

Best Student Director (Male): Alexander Shuryepov for Mother of Chernobyl (USA)

Best First Time Director (Female): Rachel Wan for Numb (Netherlands)

Best First Time Director (Male): Amine Lakhnech for True Story (Tunisia)

Best Young Filmmaker: Tracy (Yingzhuo) Yan for Be Useful (USA)

Best Actress: Sara Rue for The Bridge (USA)

Best Actor: Etienne Baret for Hollow Tooth (France)

Best Supporting Actor: George Bracebridge for Deep Shock (UK)

Best Child/Young Actress: Nita Chikadze for Voiceless (USA)

Best Child/Young Actor: Barsam Naemi for Little Philip’s Birthday (Canada)

Best Acting Duo: Daryl Ansifeld and Sandra Baskin for Killing Irma (USA)

Best Acting Ensemble: Sean Conlon, Naincí McMonagle, Pól Penrose, Maureen Butler, Andy Doherty, Elanor Gallagher and Pierce Butler for Leave The Road Behind You (Ireland)

Best Producer: William Sineux, Alexandre Melot and Gabriel de Azevedo for Hollow Tooth (France)

Best Production Design: Christopher Yager for Zenith (USA)

Best Original Story: Kiriakos Kotsinis for Forgotten Alive (Greece)

Best Cinematography: Alexander Mair for Masterpieces (Austria)

Best Editing: Lauren Freedman and Alisa Khosrovschahi for Aspire to the Sky: The Wilshire Grand Story (USA)

Best Sound Design: Brando Dalo and Justin Arbabi for Zenith (USA)

Best Sound Editing: Mario Giulianelli for Deep Shock (UK)

Best Sound Mixing: Sabyr Mapan and Islam Massimov for Bring Me Home (Kazakhstan)

Best Costume Design: Sandra Shay and Alina Ivette for Darling, Darling, Wendy (USA)

Best Makeup and Hairstyling: Daniele Nastasi and Niamhy Glynn for Deep Shock (UK)

Best Special Makeup: Raúl Muñoz and Ivon Blancas for Delirium (Mexico)

Best Visual FX: Moritz Brandes for Exkursion (Germany)

Best Original Score: Tom Porter for Darling, Darling, Wendy (USA)

Best Original Song: World’s End by Fighting Giants for Fighting Giants Visual EP (USA)

Indie Short Fest 2018-2019 © All Rights Reserved