Award Winners: February 2019

Best Short

Sound by Tawan Bazemore (USA)


Best Foreign-Language Short

Sea at Night by Kim Fabienne Hertinger (Germany)


Best Indie Short: Mr Franco by Vincenzo Palazzo (Italy)

Best Drama Short: Sea at Night by Kim Fabienne Hertinger (Germany)

Best Documentary Short: Refugee Is Not My Name by Rose Massett (USA)

Best Comedy Short: Skin: The Movie by Ronn Kilby (USA)

Best Romantic Comedy Short: (Still) Love You by Fernando Bonelli (Spain)

Best Dark Comedy Short: Finley by J. Zachary Thurman (USA)

Best Action Short: Bad People by Giorgi Tavartkiladze (Georgia)

Best Crime Short: Send Me to Hell, Baby by Todd Davies (Canada)

Best Film Noir Short: Escarabana by Sara Casasnovas (Spain)

Best Mystery Short: The Moon Smells Like Gunpowder by Mark Solter (USA)

Best Thriller Short: 9023 by Sotiris Petridis and Tania Nanavraki (Greece)

Best Horror Short: Kushtaka by Cameron Currin (USA)

Best Fantasy Short: Anacronte by Raúl Koler and Emiliano Sette (Argentina/Mexico)

Best Sci-Fi Short: Hidden Life by Valeria Brenes (Costa Rica)

Best Children Short: Boob Sweat by Charlotte Guerry (USA)

Best Animation Short: Big Boom by Brian Watson (USA)

Best Women Short: For Summer by Jessie Kirby (UK)

Best LGBT Short: Adeline by Audrey Biche (France)

Best Music Video: Seize the Day by Eric Vander Borght (Netherlands)

Best Web Series/TV Pilot: Pool by Ben Majest (USA)

Best Web and New Media: Raven & Crow by Jotham Porzio (USA)

Best Experimental Short: The Land by Stephen Crout (USA)

Best Microfilm: Beloved Stranger by Marco Gasser (Spain)

Best Drone Short: Live Your Dream by André Hope (Norway)

Best Student Short: Still Here by Troy Charbonnet (USA)

Best Director (Female): Kim Fabienne Hertinger for Sea at Night (Germany)

Best Director (Male): Ronn Kilby for Skin: The Movie (USA)

Best First Time Director (Female): Pryka Almeida for 2017 (Brazil)

Best First Time Director (Male): Tommaso Bertoncelli for Little Boy Lost/Little Boy Found (Italy)

Best Student Director (Female): Charlotte Guerry for Boob Sweat (USA)

Best Student Director (Male): Tristan Alan for Tribute (USA)

Best Actress: Crystal Porter Bazemore for Sound (USA)

Best Actor: Gaetano Mosca for Mr Franco (Italy)

Best Supporting Actress: Diane Sargent for Skin: The Movie (USA)

Best Supporting Actor: Eric Lang for The Wish & The Wisp (USA)

Best Child/Young Actress: Xochitl Gomez-Deines for Boob Sweat (USA)

Best Child/Young Actor: Kai Nichols for Kid, the Moon (USA)

Best Acting Duo: Nacho Guerreros and Raquel Infante for Without You (Spain)

Best Acting Ensemble: Peter Kotthaus, David Steffen, Laura Bettinger and Monika Schiefer for Sea at Night (Germany)

Best Producer: Nancy Cantine and Ben Majest for Pool (USA)

Best Original Story: Vincenzo Palazzo for Mr Franco (Italy)

Best Cinematography: Mark Solter for The Moon Smells Like Gunpowder (USA)

Best Editing: Yujie Tang for Thicker Than Water (USA)

Best Sound Design: Natalia Guzmán and Abraham Arce for Hidden Life (Costa Rica)

Best Sound Editing: Marcus DiLauro for Kid, the Moon (USA)

Best Sound Mixing: Matthew Merrite for Arson (USA)

Best Visual FX: Eric Hiller and Jay Hiller for Tribute (USA)

Best Costume Design: Maria Mirage for The Ghost in the Kamera (UK)

Best Makeup and Hairstyling: Diahann McCreary for Thicker Than Water (USA)

Best Special Makeup: Tara Renee for Obscured Reflection (USA)

Best Original Score: Norman Skipp for The Moon Smells Like Gunpowder (USA)

Best Original Song: “Early June” written by John Pilat and performed by Evan & John for Country People (USA)

Best Trailer/Teaser: Sea at Night (Germany)