2020 Annual Award Winners

Best Indie Short

Pusher produced by Gardner Grout, Andi Morrow, Richard Garber, and Kristen Dye, and directed by Andi Morrow (USA)

Best Drama Short

Bad People produced by Vladimer Katcharava and directed by Giorgi Tavartkiladze (Georgia)

Best Documentary Short

The Mortician of Manila produced by Fiona Lawson-Baker, Emile Guertin, Laura Shacham, and Katharine Round, and directed by Leah Borromeo (Philippines)

Best Comedy Short

Champion produced by Maciej Slesicki and directed by Grzegorz Porzeziński (Poland)

Best Romantic Comedy Short

Manasanamaha produced by Shilpa Gajjala and directed by Deepak Reddy (India)

Best Dark Comedy Short

L’Escale produced by Pieter De Cnudde, Edward Bosschem, and Francis Bosschem, and directed by Pieter De Cnudde (Belgium)

Best Action Short

Nemesis produced by Tim Earnheart, Matt Fleming, S. Joe Downing, and Ayuba Audu, and directed by Tim Earnheart (USA)

Best Crime Short

Ruffians produced by Pierre Yves Le Cunff and directed by Alexandre Jallali (Belgium)

Best Film Noir Short

The Big Red Bastard produced by Thomas Horvath and Cooper Barnes, and directed by Thomas Horvath (USA)

Best Mystery Short

Vacant Rooms produced by Maciej Slesicki and directed by Bartłomiej Jakubiak (Poland)

Best Thriller Short

Juicy Girl produced by Mark Montgomery, Katharine Kim, and Kaiwi Lyman, and directed by MJ Kim (South Korea)

Best Horror Short

Bad Dreams produced by Lucy Trendle, Chloe Byatt, and Charlotte Woodhead, and directed by Stuart Fryer (UK)

Best Fantasy Short

True Story produced by Riadh Thabet and Amine Lakhnech, and directed by Amine Lakhnech (Tunisia)

Best Sci-Fi Short

Uncario produced by Mauricio van Hasselt and directed by Didier Konings (USA)

Best Western Short

The Rift produced by Natalia Fernández and directed by Pedro Maccarone and Max Franco (Argentina)

Best Animation Short

The Train to Qinling produced by Ringling College of Art & Design and directed by Shir Baron (USA)

Best Children Short

Calamity Falls produced by Aaron Keteyian and Ethan Seneker, and directed by Hadley Hillel (USA)

Best Women Short

Here Comes the Night produced by Carole Chassaing and Delphine Leoni, and directed by Delphine Leoni (France)

Best LGBTQ Short

Pastel produced by Cornland Studio Sàrl and directed by Michael Guillod (Switzerland)

Best Microfilm

The Mother produced by Hoang Duy Khanh, Khang Nguyen, and Mai Phuong Ngo, and directed by Le Huy Anh (Vietnam)

Best Experimental Short

Father produced and directed by Suzanna Zawieja (Germany)

Best Student Short

Mum’s Hairpins produced by Rustem Samigullin, Olga Akatieva, and Taras Stadnikov, and directed by Tatiana Fedorovskaya (Russia)

Best Director (Female)

Marfisia Bel for Drawn Curtains (USA)

Best Director (Male)

MJ Kim for Juicy Girl (South Korea)

Best Student Director (Female)

Elaine Wong for Where Dreams Rest (USA)

Best Student Director (Male)

Hadley Hillel for Calamity Falls (USA)

Best First Time Director (Female)

Andi Morrow for Pusher (USA)

Best First Time Director (Male)

Alexandre Jallali for Ruffians (Belgium)

Best Actress

Sara Rue for The Bridge (USA)

Best Actor

Jason Schwartzman for Bad Assistant (USA)

Best Child/Young Actress

Weronika Wachowska for Vacant Rooms (Poland)

Best Child/Young Actor

Reuben Dodd for The Bridge (USA)

Best Ensemble Cast

Kaiwi Lyman, Cheongmi Lee, Samantha Daniel, and Andreas Fronk for Juicy Girl (South Korea)

Best Original Screenplay

Amine Lakhnech for True Story (Tunisia)

Best Cinematography

Przemyslaw Jurkiewicz for Vacant Rooms (Poland)

Best Editing

Tawan Bazemore for Sound (USA)

Best Visual FX

Didier Konings for Uncario (USA)

Best Original Score

Edwin Wendler for At the End of the World (USA)

Indie Short Fest 2018-2022 © All Rights Reserved